Thread: A data point from 1848 era

Hybrid View

A data point from 1848 era

Quote Originally Posted by Hendrik View Post
    Long fist art is also called long bridge art
    Short strike art is also called short bridge art

Hope this explain my view on
    the different engine needed , the Inch power , the dynamic axis or seven bows handling instead of holding a structure or geometry shape as long fist art, biu Jee set is the short strike art based,
    and also why biu Jee set is not effective using a long fist engine.
    Last edited by Hendrik; 04-17-2014 at 07:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by dlcox View Post
    Hello Hendrik,

I agree with most of what you are relaying, however, I'd like to address a couple issues.

1. Being a long fist stylist I feel that the holding of structure as you describe it is not totally accurate, it depends on the method of long fist. Some methods employ continuous movement that contracts and expands weaving in and out of the long bridge and short bridge. This is done as a counter measure for collision, it allows one to gauge the gap and control the inside line from varying distances. In short the movement is not linear or static, the geometric shape changes slightly to compensate for distance.

2. I agree that Biu Jee is not effective offensively using the long fist "engine" but defensively it's a different story. The large circling movements are used in much the same manner as I described above, albeit not generally in an offensive manner. Defensively as a means of wrapping up or escaping it's performed in much the same manner as long fist.

I just wanted to clarify a couple of points that weren't readily addressed. All in all I generally agree with your assesment on the mechanics of the bridging.

1. Sure,
    long fist art like clf is dynamic. Western boxing is Also dynamic. In contrast to some other southern fist style.