Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question: Better to carry, mace or a knife

Question: Better to carry, mace or a knife

I've been talking about this with friends, as a female friend asked me what to carry, and I favor a knife (I know, some states don't allow this).

What are your thoughts?

What kind of knife?

I don't favor mace because I was once in a car where someone accidentally discharged mace, my window was the only open window, and it was just cracked open, so it all went into my face. It sucked, but not in a way that I felt could be counted on to stop people. Mind you, not all mace is the same.

I always carry a knife

I like knives. Besides I am often called upon to cut stuff - envelopes, boxes, cheese - all kinds of stuff. I used to carry mace when I worked as an usher at a dive 3rd run movie theater. I only used it once to break up a fight there. Mace was a little cumbersome. I use my pocket knife regularly.
    Gene Ching
    Publisher www.KungFuMagazine.com
    Author of Shaolin Trips
    Support our forum by getting your gear at MartialArtSmart

Quote Originally Posted by GeneChing View Post
    I like knives. Besides I am often called upon to cut stuff - envelopes, boxes, cheese - all kinds of stuff. I used to carry mace when I worked as an usher at a dive 3rd run movie theater. I only used it once to break up a fight there. Mace was a little cumbersome. I use my pocket knife regularly.
    Same with me as far as knives. I used to work construction, having a knife was handy on a day to day basis, so I just got used to it.