Thread: the secret to flexibility

the secret to flexibility

I was wondering if anyone knows the secret to flexibility - I have done yoga 2 hours a day 7 days a week and my hamstrings never gained any flexibility and my hips never opened -- I switched to yin yoga 2 hours a day 7 days a week with the same results ---- the more I stretch the tighter I get -- if I take a couple of weeks off it becomes less painful to straighten my leg ----

am I doing too much ?

do I need recovery time ?

what's the secret ? --- I have gotten absolutely nowhere over several years

I can't even get into a descent pu bu stance - my hips aren't open and my hamstrings aren't flexible at all

I would just like to do my taiji forms better - I cannot get into basic stances or do any of the kicks properly

I'm by no means a teacher but I've had some experiences similar to yours and been helped by some teachers with good suggestions. I still have so-so hamstrings but my hips are good now. So here's a possible recipe you might test if you feel like it. If not, no worries.

It really sounds like you're overdoing it.

Stop the yoga altogether.

Take 1 or 2 complete rest days per week. How much depends on your age and health level. If you feel compelled to do something every day, do at most standing meditation in a high stance on day 7.