Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hard to pin down the exact question, but tired

Hard to pin down the exact question, but tired

This is such a hard question to ask as I know I am going to get the 'check them out' and 'go see for yourself' type replies. But there are so many schools and even though I have been hanging out on this forum for some time now, I still can't figure out what I would like best. Please don't turn this into a 'my style is best' thread. I just want some recommendations on schools in the St. Paul, MN area. If you could tell me why you are recommending it, too, that would be useful. Like, I attend(ed) there and the instructor is very good, or something like that.

Okay, my background, just so you can get a feel for what I might like. I studied Tae Kwon Do many years ago (20) for about 3 years, it was fun but a little too straight line. I am currently studying in a United Martial Arts school, thinking learning many styles might be good. (Don't even go there. Those of you who understood that remark know what I mean.) Of all the styles they teach I am liking Kung Fu, Tai Chi and Bagwa. I can't be more specific on what type of Kung Fu, for example, because they don't say it is a specific style. I don't fully understand the differences between each type in a single style to begin with anyway. I really enjoy doing forms and weapon forms. I don't get off on fighting but do feel it is important. I am just not in this to fight, more for fun, exercise, getting into better shape, and reaching some inner peace (whatever that means, like handling stress, I guess).

Anyway, now you probably need to know physical aspects. I am in my mid thirties, 5'9', 200 lbs, medium build, fairly strong. I have good endurance as I use to run marathons, then blew a knee and gained some weight during my recoping time. That is why I though about getting back into Martial Arts.