Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Closed Door Martial Arts

Closed Door Martial Arts

I hear a lot about the big name Martial Arts, but there are rarely many posts about some of the closed door Arts: Bak Mei, Bak Fu Pai, Plum Flower.....

I am curious about the rest of the communities opinions on these. Of course, it is generally hard to get authentic training in them due to the fact that most are closed door.

What are your thoughts?
    Got Lineage?

For the record, I feel that closed-door Bak Mei is a different art than the public White Eyebrow.
    Got Lineage?

different how?

We may be talking about two different strikes as I do not study Bak Mei.
    this is from your other post. How does this make you qualified to judge? Not trying to be a jerk, I'm just curious.

I am only qualified based only on what I have seen. I am far from a an expert, but when I caught a glimpse of closed door Bak Mei, it was different from the forms and sparring I witnessed at tournaments.
    Got Lineage?

Who and where are the "closed door" bak mei you have seen?
    and who and where are the public bak mei you have seen?

Both were in California.
    Got Lineage?

I was hoping for a different feel to this thread. I apoligize if I offended anyone. Let's try to change the scope of the thread. How about this:

Does anyone feel that there are Martial Arts that have different Closed-Door and public styles.

From my previous posts, you know my opinion. I am sure my training is different now than it would be if I were a closed-door disciple of a grandmaster. Any thoughts?
    Got Lineage?

i do believe that some styles are taught differently in closed door environments than in public. by that i also want to say that i think the modern idea that all info is public and that there are no secrets anymore is a bit foolish.