Thread: Lau Gar - Jeremy Yau interview

Lau Gar - Jeremy Yau interview

Here are some extracts from an intervirew with Jeremy Yau conducted in 1989 by Bey Logan for Combat magazine.

BEY LOGAN: Jeremy, you are now, certainly, the most prominent figure in the U.K's kung fu community, and I’m sure a lot of our readers would be very interested to hear about your early years living in Hong Kong, and training in kung fu.

JEREMY YAU.: I started training in Hong Kong at the age of five. It was a family tradition. The training was very hard, and we started training every day at six o'clock in the evening, and finished at 10 o'clock. It was four hours every single day. No days off. You just trained, I don't think my childhood is a very enviable one for today's children. Every day was just going to school, eating, training and sleeping. We were not allowed to play, as such. We didn't have any toys. Our play was kung fu, and the only "toys" we had were the weapons we trained with.

B1.: And your instructor at that time was your grandfather, wasn't it?

JS.: That's right. After about six years training, when I was 11, I started to help out with the teaching of the beginners. Obviously, in the olden times, classes weren’t structured like they are now. The more advanced students helped the beginners, and they needed their own self-discipline in order to train. They were only to be corrected when necessary. It wasn't a class with people walking up and down in rows.

B1.: Where was the kwoon situated?.

J.Y.: It was in the village community centre in Kowloon City. It was a council building. My grandfather was also head of the village. It was slightly outside the Walled City, quite near the old Kai Tak airport location.

B1.: What was your family's situation at that time?